Skip to content
Curtin University
Office of Strategy and Planning

Higher Education Standards Framework

TEQSA registers and evaluates the performance of higher education providers against the Higher Education Standards Framework, specifically, the Threshold Standards. All providers must meet the standards in order to enter and remain within Australia's higher education system. The standards are available from the TEQSA website.

The standards have a strong student focus across seven domains:

  1. Student Participation and Attainment
  2. Learning Environment
  3. Teaching
  4. Research and Research Training
  5. Institutional Quality Assurance
  6. Governance and Accountability
  7. Representation, Information and Information Management

TEQSA works to ensure that the sector understands its responsibilities. As a quality assurance agency, TEQSA continues to implement the standards in keeping with its regulatory principles of reflecting risk, regulatory necessity and proportionality.

Context of the HES Framework

As illustrated below, the HES Framework has been structured to align with the student experience or 'student life cycle', including their progression from a prospective student through to the award of a qualification.

HESF 2015 - Student Life Cycle

TEQSA contextual overview of the new HES Framework is available here.